Trends Your Grandmother Could Get Behind

I just saw a girl, who couldn’t have been a day over 25, and she was wearing sheer panty hose- or nylons, or tights – whatever you call them where you’re from, I’m sure you know what I mean. I personally have always kind of enjoyed panty hose. When I was a little girl I actually got super excited at any opportunity to sport my opaque white tights. I had this super awesome navy and white sailor dress, with a very official-type embroidered crest and a collar. With this dress I would wear not just regular tights, but white tights that were woolen and had a ribbed pattern. I felt this was a more oppropriately commanding look to go with my dress – seeing as the dress clearly signified me as some sort of naval commander. I still love the look of a dark black nylon with a skirt or dress. It seems sexy in a very non-intimidating way – and it means if I wake up late I can get away with not saving my legs that day, serious bonus! Plus, it’s cold here in the winter, you guys! But even I haven’t really given much thought to a sheer nylon. Certainly not in August – when it is literally 33 degrees! I never really fell in with the leggings trend. Mostly because I knew there was potential that I would fall into the trap of becoming one of those girls who thinks leggings are pants. They aren’t ladies. I can almost hear some of you about to protest, don’t even try it. Not with me. They aren’t pants.

The point is, clearly, the style influence of Kate Middleton knows no limits! She has made something that a lot of us would probably have seen as old fashioned, unneccessary or uncomfortable just a few months ago, seem demure, trendy, maybe even regal. There has been a lot of talk lately about Kate’s covered legs. Does she do it because she has to, what about if she’s got open toed shoes? Is she even allowed to have open toed shoes? And most importantly, where can I get sheer nylons that are as invisible as hers that will make my legs look as flawless, without giving me insane muffin top or pinching my tighs all day or doing that gross bunching slouching thing at the knees and/or ankles? I’ve complied a set of some of the best reviewed nylons to help you guys channel your inner princess. Spanx appears to have caught on to the trend and now has a whole line of sheers called the Royal Look. I must say, my personal favourite is the Joe Fresh brand, which I couldn’t find an image for online. I wear them constantly in the winter. You might not believe this because it does sound like something out of a fairy tale, but I wouldn’t lie about something so serious – they have never run on me. Not once.

Sheers

These underthings have come a long way. They’re no longer the dowdy slouch monsters some of us remember our grandmothers wearing. They’ve also come a long way in terms of comfort and durability. Plus, don’t lie, a control top has saved us all from the nightmare of a satin bridesmaids gown. They’ll get you an extra 3 minutes of windshield scraping before frost bite sets in in the winter, and when you find the right pair they really can hide a multitude of flaws.

So, are nylons/tights/pantyhose a trend your grandmother could get behind? I think so. I don’t know about you, but my grandmothers were pretty bad ass chicks and wouldn’t have gotten behind anything that wasn’t totally worth it.

3 responses to “Trends Your Grandmother Could Get Behind

  1. stephaniegal

    I loved lace tights as a child! And those opaque ones – my favourites were in pink, red and white.

    I favour opaque black tights with dresses, but you have inspired me, fellow author, to try some sheer nylons this fall!

  2. Pingback: Trends Your Grandmother Could Get Behind « Pop culture. Style … | Pantyhose Nylons Tights

  3. Lisa

    This post made me think of this site: http://www.tightsarenotpants.com/manifesto

    You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

Tweedley tweedley tweets

