The Librarian’s Guide to A Wardrobe Overhaul

Recently a friend asked me to help her freshen up her casual wardrobe. She wants to start dressing more grown up and to wear less t-shirts.

To start with, I put together a board of ideas for her. Later we can go shopping if she wants some encouragement or needs someone to help her justify some purchases (I’m reaaally good at that! I can find a reason for anyone to buy anything!)

While I was putting the board together I started thinking about my own wardrobe – It might need a bit of polishing up for spring. So I tore apart my closet this weekend and threw some things out and made notes of things I’ll need.

And I have some very librarian-ish ideas on how to freshen up your wardrobe, after the jump…

Here is the board I put together for my friend, as the starting inspiration:

Wardrobe Overhaul

I included things like jeans, boots, ballet flats, and jewelry in the board just to make it more complete but it is likely that you already have some form of these in your own wardrobe. So the good news is that you’re not starting from scratch!

The first step is assessment. What do you already have? Where are the gaps?
If you have a lot of cardigans, but not a lot of blouses or shells to wear under a cardigan, then it is time to get some shells. Lot of ballet flats but no boots? Same thing.

The second step is deselection. What do you never wear? What makes you feel less than fabulous? Throw it out! (well, recycle it to Goodwill or Salvation Army)

The third step is acquisition(the best part!). You know how that goes. Lots of looking at websites, blogs, pinterest for inspiration and to see what will mesh best with your wardrobe. And then the actual shopping!

Ta-da, refreshed wardrobe! Any questions, class?

2 responses to “The Librarian’s Guide to A Wardrobe Overhaul

  1. Lisa

    I really need to do this. I constantly flake on buying basics, and then have nothing to wear under my many fabulous layers.

    I have those animal print flats above and love them. They add a little fun to so many outfits!

  2. Pingback: Updating the work wardrobe « Pop culture. Style. It's an obsession.

Leave a Reply

Tweedley tweedley tweets

