What I Wore

About a week ago a friend of mine asked me to go to the DIA with him to see their ‘Rembrandt and the Face of Jesus’ exhibit. He has, and I quote, ‘a total art boner for Rembrandt.’ Who am I to deny a young artist this kind of joy? So, wanting to be worldly and cultured I agreed.

I figured I could go two ways in terms of what to wear to something like this. I could go upper-class fur coat wearing mature old lady; Or I could go art school hipster-asshole. I’m painfully aware that I have the rest of my life to be a classy old lady and that my days pulling off anything legitimately hipsteresque – even in an ironic way – are numbered. Also, my mink is totally at the cleaners, go figure. So, I went art school.

I'm arty

All black with a pop of colour is one of my favourite things to do ever. I’m pretty lazy and this is a look you absolutely can’t screw up. I like that. Also, I have a hard time regulating my body temperature, I’m almost always freezing, except for when I’m not – which is to say I’m so hot I can’t stand it! So, the blazer scarf combo with a lightweight blouse underneath is key in places like libraries, museums, malls and other large spaces with a lot of people. You never know what kind of temperature you’re going to get! You have to be prepared for anything, people! When crossing an international border you need a large bag. You have to lug your passport and two kinds of money plus, if you’re me you have to stuff a cardigan and a camera in there too – maybe an extra pair of flats. Just in case. Of what? I don’t know, but I’m in another country anything could happen

So, we went to the show. We looked for parking for oh, half an hour and went in. Only to discover the exhibit was sold out for the day. I held back as much as possible on the “I told you so’s” Even though I totally told you so! When given the opportunity to pre-buy tickets you always should. Always. Or else you will inevitably get screwed. So, anyway, we totally just went to P.F. Chang’s and ate Kung Pao Chicken and drank a bunch of beers. There are worse ways to spend the afternoon, I guess. This means we have to go back though. So, I need another outfit. Maybe I’ll go see if my mink is ready.

Leave a Reply

Tweedley tweedley tweets

