Pops of Neon

Irene and I were talking the other day and she informed me that she finally found a sheer black blouse, after searching for one for an entire year! Yay for her! I told her she needed to immediately pair it with one of her many cobalt coloured items (seriously, girl is addicted) and then I had a brainwave – NEON.

Neon is a huge trend this summer (see here, here, and here). For those of us born in the early 80s (myself anyway) it brings back a huge wave of nostalgia- who didn’t have a neon Lisa Frank notebook, one of those neon shirt clips with rhinestones, neon laces for your hi-tops, or those spandex leggings with neon stripes down the sides? Bonus points if you wore it all at once like me.

I love neon. LOVE. I don’t want to wear a whole neon shirt though….that is just not kind to my almost 30 year old face. So when Irene was like ‘ooh yes, cobalt pencil skirt and sheer black blouse’ I commanded her to “ADD A NEON BELT! DO IT! DO IT!’  She stopped texting me after that point, but I love it. Adding pops of neon is fucking hot, it’s a grown up way to add neon to an outfit, and it might be a little more flattering on us folk who wore it the first time round.

Pops of Neon

See? That is hot. Imagine wearing this little outfit some steamy summer night. With lots of black eyeliner and nude lips. IRENE, ARE YOU LISTENING? 😉

2 responses to “Pops of Neon

  1. I just bought a cobalt blue dress with neon orange belt! LOVE IT.

    • stephaniegal

      We’re reading each others minds now! Ugh I want your dress. I own nothing that is cobalt! Seriously! I need some cobalt in my life. And neon.

Leave a Reply

Tweedley tweedley tweets

